Intellectual Freedom Committee


Six members of the Association


  • Promotes greater awareness among SCLA members of intellectual freedom and censorship of libraries and librarians.
  • Recommends to the Association and to the Executive Board such steps as may be necessary to safeguard the rights of library users, libraries, and librarians.
  • Aids libraries and librarians involved in intellectual freedom or censorship problems when assistance is formally requested.
  • Fully informs the President and Executive Board of the committee's proceedings.

Intellectual Freedom Award

Consider nominating a colleague or community member for this year's Intellectual Freedom Award! Details and due date coming soon.

Previous Award Recipients

1983 Pat Scales
1985 Melinda Hare
1987 Eva Roussos
1989 Judy Fitzgerald
1999 John Monk
2001 Ida Thompson and Betty Garrison
2003 Pat Scales
2005 J. Rhett Jackson
2007 Michael Giller
2009 NONE
2011 Emily Woody
2012 Ellen Stringer
2013 Anne C. Lemieux